Home > Benjamin Quotes > Learning to Spell…Ugh

Learning to Spell…Ugh


About a year or two ago, we were visiting with friends of ours who own a house up in the Poconos.  As I was walking out with Ben, I turned to my friend and asked, “Do you have any B-E-A-R-S here?” (I spelled “bears” in case that wasn’t clear.)  Within a moment or two, Ben’s little ears perked up and he turned to me and said, “There are bears here?”

It happened again the other day when Andrea announced a word that another friend of ours played in “Words with Friends.”

“He just played ‘T-I-T’,” Andrea laughed.  To which a little tiny voice spoke up from the end of the couch, “What is a tit?”

Andrea and I both started to laugh hysterically, which only peaked Ben’s interest more.  Once we finished laughing, I turned to him and repeated the almost the very same thing Andrea’s mom said to her when her father said the very same word: “Don’t ever repeat anything your mother says!”

The little guy learning to spell is going to ruin the very fabric of our current communication system!

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

