Home > Growing Up, Poem > Midnight Tempest

Midnight Tempest


Something a little different…A sonnet.

From darkness depth a midnight tempest crashed!
Senses startled from rest’s peaceful embrace.
In my dazed, sleep-soaked mind the lightning flashed,
Breath escapes me as heart and mind gives chase.
I fall from bed to face the stormy plight,
My body braced against the nighttide’s cold.
Feet carry me towards tempest without light,
A passage taken blindly times untold.
Tiny tempest rolls towards my quiet quest,
Small shimmering spheres slice through the dark.
Sweeping up my boy, I hold him to my chest –
As he  settles in instant contrast stark.
Silence returns as the last sob is drawn.
Together, again, we face morning’s dawn.

I wrote the first draft of this during a boring meeting at work after another long night with Benjamin when he was an infant…I was exhausted and writing was the only thing that was going to keep me awake.

Benjamin had difficulty sleeping on his own as an infant and usually would wake up at 3 or 4 in the morning and we wouldn’t be able to get him to fall back to sleep in his crib.  So, one of us usually spent the rest of the night sitting in a chair and holding him as he slept.  Back then, it was so, so difficult, but now, I look at those quiet early morning memories fondly.  To an extent, I miss them.  When I think of it, I don’t think about how tired I would be…I think about that sweet little baby and he quiet sleeping sounds.

Categories: Growing Up, Poem Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

